Understand what joy is.

This map of the kingdom of joy shows just how complex and subtle this fundamental emotion is. However, it is important to note that to experience lasting joy, contentment and/or spirituality is necessary, as these feelings arise from deep well-being and benevolence.


  1. Know the feelings that joy is associated with.
    These feelings are pleasure, amusement, contentment, excitement, relief, wonder, ecstasy/bliss, exultation, radiant pride, unhealthy jubilation (relishing in someone else’s suffering), elevation, gratitude, rejoicing in someone else’s happiness, delight/enchantment, and spiritual radiance.
  2. Know the feelings that lasting joy is associated with.
    All of the feelings in step 1 will result in joy, but this joy is likely fleeting. Lasting joy will only arise from shining contentment and/or spiritual radiance.


No insights yet

Take action!

Our mobile app, Mentorist, will guide you on how to acquire this skill.
If you have the app installed

Our site saves small pieces of text information (cookies) on your device in order to deliver better content and for statistical purposes. You can disable the usage of cookies by changing the settings of your browser. By browsing our website without changing the browser settings you grant us permission to store that information on your device.